2. Acts of service

For people who speak this love language, actions truly speak louder than words, and when it comes to feeling loved simple acts of service communicate love clearly.  Helping out with chores around the house or being involved with your partner’s business planning are great ways to show love through acts of service.

3. Receiving gifts

Gift giving is a universal act that has been perceived as an expression of love throughout history.  Something in the mind says that if you love someone, you will want to give to him or her, and for some people receiving gifts is their primary love language. The gifts don’t have to be elaborate or expensive to communicate with a person who speaks this love language because it’s the gesture that matters most. Something as simple as a handmade card can communicate love to your partner. Always make sure to give gifts during those expected times of gift giving such as birthdays and holidays to make him/her feel treasured and loved.

4. Quality time

If your partner’s love language is quality time, giving him/her your undivided attention is one of the best ways to show your love. This doesn’t mean being in the same room with your mate while watching television or reading a book. Quality time means having one on one time listening to and conversing with your partner. Twnty minutes of intimate bonding will refill your partner’s love tank and move you closer to understanding him/her on an elevated level of love. Any moment of your sincere and undivided attention will do the trick.

5. Physical touch

A person that speaks this love language needs to be touched physically by their mate in order to feel loved. Simple gestures such as holding hands while walking with each other, placing a hand on his/her leg while driving, kissing, hugging and embracing each other during sex are all great ways to speak the love language of physical touch.


What’s Your Love Language?  was originally published on blackdoctor.org

« Previous page 1 2