Black America Web Featured Video

By any account, Dionne Warwick has faced some tough times this last year. Her cousin, Whitney Houston, was found dead in February.  Her longtime collaborator Hal David, who wrote many of her hit songs with writing partner Burt Bacharach, died this year and so did Warwick’s 24-year-old nephew. Despite the tragedies, Warwick found solace in music. “Now,” a musical retrospective of the singer’s 50-year career was released in November, featuring the last songs she’d recorded by David, who died in September.

“This year I’ve cried a lot,” Warwick told London’s The Daily Mail. “Crying is cleansing. There’s a reason for tears, happiness or sadness. Of course, I cried at Whitney’s funeral and I cried at my nephew’s funeral. Imagine, he contacted a virus and he couldn’t get rid of it. This has been a terrible year. It was quite unexpected.”

The death of David who died in September at the age of 91 wasn’t as shocking, but it hurt nonetheless. “He was just one of those people who will always be in my heart,” Warwick told The Huffington Post. “He was a friend. He was a mentor. He was just there. How do you explain that? I don’t think I can.”

Warwick’s “Now” is both a career retrospective and a collection of new recordings, four of which were penned by David. Warwick says the collection is intended to please both her longtime fans and celebrate her continuing career. There are five brand new tracks and several reworkings of her classic recordings, including a duet with her son David Elliott on “I Say A Little Prayer.” After 50 years and at 71 years old (she turns 72 on December 12) Warwick is still doing what she loves to do – sing.

“Now” is available in stores and on download sites.

Track Listing:

1. (There’s) Always Something There To Remind Me (new version)

2.Are You There (With Another Girl) (new version, chosen for this album by Stevie Wonder)

3. Don’t Make Me Over (new version)

4. Love Is Still The Answer (brand new track)

5. 99 Miles from LA (brand new track)

6. Be Aware (taken from the album ‘Dionne’ 1972)

7. Reach Out (taken from the album ‘Make Way For Dionne Warwick’ 1964 release)

8. Is There Anybody Out There? (brandnew track)

9. I Just Have To Breathe (taken from the album ‘Dionne’ 1972)

10. It Was Almost Like a Song (brand new track)

11. Make it Easy On Yourself (new version)

12. I Say a Little Prayer (new version)

(Photo: PRPhotos)


Remembering Whitney: The Music Icon Through The Years
0 photos