Black America Web Featured Video

Cee Lo Green has had a pretty unlikely career thus far. He’s gone from the vocalist for Goodie Mob, a rap group that was critically acclaimed but never a sales force, to an international superstar with several big hits to his name and a prominent judging spot on “The Voice.” Now Cee Lo’s really doing something radical – releasing a Christmas CD. Yes, a Christmas CD. Clearly intended to turn up the cool on anyone’s Christmas celebration, “Cee Lo’s Magic Moment” is in stores October 30. (Doesn’t it seem fitting that Cee Lo's Christmas CD comes out right before Halloween?) Watch the video for “Run Rudolph Run,” the first single below.

And if you thought Cee Lo’s Christmas included sequins and starships, well, you might not be wrong. But his music is surprisingly traditional, as he covers beloved Christmas songs like “This Christmas” and “The Christmas Song” on the 14 track CD. He duets with Christina Aguilera, his co-judge on “The Voice” on “Baby It’s Cold Outside” and covers “Merry Christmas, Baby” with rocker Rod Stewart.  He even includes the Muppets on “You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch,” from “How The Grinch Stole Christmas.”

Aguilera and Cee Lo exit “The Voice” for the fourth season to finish work on their own projects. Usher and Latin singer Shakira will keep their seats warm as both Aguilera and Green are expected to return for Season 5.

Here’s a track listing for “Cee Lo’s Magic Moment”:

1.What Christmas Means to Me    

2.Baby It's Cold Outside (feat. Christina Aguilera)        

3.This Christmas    

4. The Christmas Song    

5. White Christmas    

6. All I Need Is Love (feat. The Muppets)

7. You're a Mean One, Mr. Grinch (feat. Straight No Chaser)

8. Please Come Home for Christmas

9. Run Rudolph Run    

10. All I Want for Christmas    

11. Mary, Did You Know?    

12. River    

13. Merry Christmas, Baby (feat. Rod Stewart & Trombone Shorty)    

14. Silent Night


Also On Black America Web:
The Ten Most Interesting Little Known Black History Facts
5 photos