TJ FV 2023 Banner
Black America Web Featured Video

TGT has dropped the “Three Kings” album. Now get naked. That’s the message that their sexy R&B sound conveys from the first track to the last. This is not music to listen to in the car with the top down on the way to the beach, no. This is an album to listen to in the house, preferably in the bedroom and not by yourself. TGT otherwise known as Tank, Ginuwine and Tyrese are ready reclaim R&B music from the pretenders to the throne. So far, it’s working.

“We dropped last night and we’re already #1 in five countries,” Tyrese told the Tom Joyner Morning Show. “That Twitter, that social media is serious. That just shows you that there’s a real interest in real music. They love R&B authenticity – that conviction.”

For 17 tracks, along with interludes not suitable to play on the Tom Joyner Morning Show, the fellas work their best combined R&B moves. The tracks flow seamlessly and that was on purpose, says the group.

“We didn’t want no interruptions while you were doing what you were doing to the TGT album,” Tank says. “It’s been test driven, it’s been test-flown, we’ve hit the sky with this one and I must say that it works. Water, a couple sandwiches and a Gatorade and you are well on your way with this album,” Tank says.

TGT will be joining Janelle Monae, the So So Def 20th Anniversary All Stars, Fantasia and more at the Tom Joyner Family Reunion in Orlando, Florida August 29 – September 2. Expect their show to be epic, says the group.

“We are too excited about this. It’s about to be a different level when we get there,” Tyrese says.

The group is happy that their work has been received well so far. That the three, like the winning NBA version of the Three Kings (Dwyane Wade, Chris Bosh and LeBron James) has been able to put egos aside and work as a unit is fairly unique in R&B. (Although of course, LSG (Gerald Levert, Keith Sweat and Johnny Gill once did the same thing over 2 album releases).

“It’s #1 for a reason because we got 17 straight R&B records [on the album],” Tyrese says. “We got a responsibility to R&B. A lot of us are frustrated with the state of the game because it’s missing that authenticity, that conviction that we know.”

“Three Kings” track listing:

01. Take It Wrong (feat. Black-Ty)

02. No Fun (feat. Problem)

03. Sex Never Felt Better

04. I Need

05. Next Time Around

06. Interlude

07. Hurry

08. Weekend Love

09. Interlude

10. Lessons In Love

11. Explode

12. FYH

13. OMG

14. Running Back

15. Burn Out

16. Tearing It Down

17. Our House