NEW YORK (AP) — The federal government will include about 50 types of cancer on the list of Sept. 11 World Trade Center-related illnesses covered by a program to pay for health coverage.

Democratic New York Sens. Kirsten Gillibrand and Charles Schumer and the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health announced the change Monday. The institute said last June it favored expanding the $4.3 billion health program to include cancer.

Scientists say there's little research to prove exposure to toxic dust from the destroyed twin towers caused even one kind of cancer. Questions about whether dust caused cancer were a reason Congress didn't include it in the initial list of covered illnesses.

But an advisory panel said it was plausible first responders and others who were exposed to the toxic dust might get cancer.

Also On Black America Web:

One thought on “9/11 WTC Health Program Adds 50 Types of Cancer

  1. wornbyacelebritycom on said:

    As we move into cancer awareness month, it is important for everyone especially African Americans to understand the signs, symptoms and treatment for cancer. Take preventative measures by eating right, staying away from chemicals in cosmetics that are toxic, etc. Survivors on the Runway is proud to bring awareness to the community. Visit

Add Your Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s