Leave a comment

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced its annual list of nominees Wednesday morning and repeat contenders LL Cool J, N.W.A. and Chic have again made the cut.

It’s the eighth nomination for Chic since 2003, but comes as co-founder Nile Rodgers is enjoying widespread attention after his collaboration with Daft Punk earlier this year. LL Cool J returns to the list after absences of several years.

More than 600 voters will determine the final class of 2014. Inductees will be announced in December and a ceremony will be held next April in New York. The induction will be aired on HBO in May.

Other repeat nominees include KISS, Cat Stevens, Deep Purple, The Meters and The Paul Butterfield Blues Band.

First-time nominees include Nirvana, Linda Ronstadt, Peter Gabriel, Hall and Oates, YES and The Replacements.

Nirvana is nominated in its first year of eligibility. If selected for induction, the band would enter the hall of fame almost exactly 20 years after frontman Kurt Cobain’s suicide at age 27.

Ronstadt receives her first nomination not long after she shared news that she has Parkinson’s disease.

Also On Black America Web:
Find Out What Your Fav Celebs Did On Instagram This Week (02/02-02/08)
10 photos

Add Your Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s