Leave a comment

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (AP) — The National Civil Rights Museum says it will bestow its annual Freedom Award on journalist Soledad O’Brien, civil rights attorney Benjamin Crump and three others.

The Memphis-based museum gives its Freedom Award each year for work in the advancement of civil and human rights.

Other winners announced Wednesday are U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Damon Jerome Keith; attorney and social justice activist Bryan Stevenson; and Tawakkol Karman, a Yemeni human rights activist and 2011 Nobel Peace Prize winner.

The museum is located at the site of the old Lorraine Motel, where civil rights leader Martin Luther King Jr. was shot and killed in April 1968.

Honorees will receive their awards at a ceremony on Oct. 20.

Like on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter.

(Photo Source:

Also On Black America Web:
The Ten Most Interesting Little Known Black History Facts
10 photos

Add Your Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s