Listen Live
Fantastic Voyage Generic Graphics Updated Nov 2023
Black America Web Featured Video

Movies that reflect the revolutionary undercurrent running through society dominated this year’s voting for the 7th AAFCA Awards. Straight Outta Compton, the surprise summer box office hit centered on the 90’s rap group N.W.A., captured an overwhelming majority of the votes cast by members of the association.

The Universal Pictures film earned multiple awards for Best Picture, Best Ensemble and Best Supporting Actor for Jason Mitchell, who portrayed the group’s founder, Eazy E. Awards were also given to Creed in the category of Best Director for Ryan Coogler; Michael B. Jordan for Breakout Performance and Tessa Thompson for Best Supporting Actress. The top acting honors went to Will Smith and Teyonah Parris for their roles in Concussion and Chi-Raq. AAFCA will hold its 7th annual awards ceremony on Wednesday, February 10, 2016 at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood, CA.

“Our members found an interesting theme in many of the films released this year, giving a voice to communities who have generally been underserved and marginalized in society,” says AAFCA president Gil Robertson. “With movies like Straight Outta Compton, Chi-Raq, 3 1/2 Minutes and Dope, filmmakers brought to life many storylines that are a reflection of what’s happening in our world today, including the #BlackLivesMatter movement.

Pictures like Carol and The Danish Girl, give voice to another community that is too often ridiculed and ignored by the status quo. With Creed, the members of AAFCA found an opportunity to celebrate a film with a universal message of hope, honor and perseverance – something that everyone can embrace. Overall, it was a transformative year in cinema.”

The following is a complete list of 2015 AAFCA Awards winners:

Best Picture: Straight Outta Compton (Universal Pictures)

Best Director: Ryan Coogler –Creed  (Warner Bros.)

Best Ensemble: Straight Outta Compton (Universal Pictures)

Best Actor: Will Smith Concussion (Sony)

Best Actress: Teyonah Parris Chi-Raq (Roadside Attractions)

Best Supporting Actor: Jason Mitchell Straight Outta Compton (Universal Pictures)

Best Supporting Actress: Tessa Thompson Creed (Warner Bros.)

Best Independent Film: Chi-Raq (Roadside Attractions)

Best Screenplay:  Rick Famuyiwa, Dope (Open Road Films)

Breakout Performance: Michael B. Jordan Creed (Warner Bros.)

Best Animation: The Peanuts Movie (20th Century Fox)

Best Documentary: A Ballerina’s Tale (Sundance Selects)

Best Song: “See You Again” Furious 7 (Atlantic Records)

Best TV Comedy: Black-ish (ABC)

Best TV Drama: How to Get Away with Murder (ABC)

Best Cable/New Media TV Show: Survivor’s Remorse (Starz)

AAFCA Top Ten Films of 2015 are as follows in order of distinction:

  1. Straight Outta Compton (Universal Pictures)
  2. Creed (Warner Bros.)
  3. Mad Max: Fury Road (Warner Bros.)
  4. Beasts of No Nation (Netflix) 
  5. 5. The Martian (20th Century Fox)
  6. 6. 3-1/2 Minutes/Dope (HBO/Open Road Films)
  7. Chi-Raq (Roadside Attractions)
  8. Carol  (Weinstein Co.)
  9. The Big Short (Paramount Pictures)
  10. 10. The Danish Girl (Focus Features)

 As previously announced, AAFCA’s Special Achievement honors will be awarded to Codeblack Entertainment CEO, Jeff Clanagan; director John Singleton; Maverick Carter and LeBron James’ SpringHill Entertainment. New York Times film critic Manohla Dargis will receive the organization’s Roger Ebert Award and HBO will receive the group’s Cinema Vanguard Award.


Like on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter.

‘Straight Outta Compton’ Los Angeles Premiere
0 photos