Listen Live
Fantastic Voyage Generic Graphics Updated Nov 2023
Black America Web Featured Video


Anthony Hamilton is a true soul singer, a rare feat these days in the world of Auto-tune and hip-hop rap. So his new CD, Home For The Holidays, his first Christmas release, is sure to be the kind of classic music we expect from the North Carolina native.

The former background singer for D’Angelo has eclipsed his former boss to become a respected star in his own right and has put out several more CD’s than the once popular singer. It was a challenge to get into a Christmas mood in the middle of the summer when he recorded, but Hamilton worked it out.

“I put on that red Christmas sweater, turned the heat up and put on lotion on my feet so it looked like I was walking through the snow,” Hamilton jokes. “There’s ways.”

Hamilton covered classics and more, including a duet with Ms. Chaka Khan. He says he asked her to do the project via Twitter and she agreed, though the two didn’t end up recording the song in the same studio.

“I’ve been bumping into Chaka since I was singing backgrounds with D’Angelo,” Hamilton says.

Music is obviously important to Hamilton, but so are the six sons he’s raising with wife, Tarsha.

“Yup and I whup them all. I don’t play it. You do what I say. Sit down. The 26-year-old I elbow him and the 2-year-old I take away his Ninja turtle,” says Hamilton. In the wake of Ferguson. “You just have to know how to carry yourself so that people don’t see you as a threat to them. You have to know that people don’t really respect you, so you have to respect yourself. You can’t trust that we’ve come along way and that’s going to be enough. We have a long way to go and a lot of gathering together. Stop spending their money in their corporations, that’ll hurt them.”

Home For The Holidays track listing:

1.  It’s Christmas

2.  Spend Christmas With You

3.  Santa Claus Go Straight To The Ghetto

4.  Little Drummer Boy (Interlude)

5.  Little Drummer Boy

6.  Home For The Holidays feat. Gavin DeGraw

7.  ’Tis The Season

8.  What Do The Lonely Do At Christmas

9.  Coming Home

10. Away In A Manger (Interlude)

11. Away In A Manger feat. ZZ Ward

12. Please Come Home For Christmas

13. The Christmas Song feat. Chaka Khan

14. Spirit Of Love

Click the link above to hear the interview!

Like on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter.

The Sexiest Male Crooners
0 photos