Listen Live
Desktop banner image
Black America Web Featured Video

Kindred The Family Soul, the First Couple of Black Music is back with their latest CD A Couple Friends. We celebrate Black Music everyday on The Tom Joyner Morning Show and on, so Black Music Month is very special to us. And we couldn’t think of a better representative of the power of Black Music than this duo from Philadelphia.

Aja and Fatin Dantzler are a married couple with six kids (including a set of twins!) who are still enjoying a love affair after 18 years. It shows on their new release A Couple Friends which focuses on their journey thus far as lovers, friends, parents and musical soulmates.

“This is the first time we’ve been able to write and record an album when I haven’t been expecting a baby or just had one!” Aja says. This enabled the couple to have more time to work on the CD and to work through song concepts which makes this album recording an even more organic process than before.

The duo wrote or produced all the songs on the release, but collaborated with producers like Roots crewmember James Poyser, Dre and Vidal, who worked with Jill Scott and Marsha Ambrosius and Anthony Bell and Steve McKie who’ve worked with Jaheim and Bilal and Jazmine Sullivan respectively.

The last CD was more concept-driven and full of features,” Fatin Dantzler explains, “but this CD reminds me more of our first CD. We recorded a few songs then stopped recording for almost a year then picked up where we left off and records just started to pour out like a well. I feel growth in the record for us. It’s still the same ‘us’ but more seasoned. We’ve been together a long time and we know each other extremely well.”

Listen to A Couple Friends here:

Preorder the release here: 

A Couple Friends track listing:

  • 1.Get It, Got It
  • 2.Call Me Crazy
  • 3.Everybody’s Hustling
  • 4.Loving the Night
  • 5.One Day Soon
  • 6.A Couple Friends
  • 7.Not Complaining
  • 8.Never Loved You More
  • 9.Momma Said Clean
  • 10.Here We Go – (featuring Chill Moody)
  • 11.Drop the Bomb
  • 12.Look at What We Made
  • 13.What I’ve Learned



Check out Kindred’s official Facebook page here 

Photo: Shanachie, Kindred’s Official Facebook page

Like on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter.

A Tribute To Black Families Part III
10 photos