Leave a comment

2014 AAFCA AWARDS - Robert Townsend, Zola Mashariki and Shonda Rhimes

The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) hosted its annual awards gala to honor award-winning African Americans in the film industry. The 5th annual awards were hosted by “Sleepy Hollows” actor Orlando Jones and actress Salli Richardson-Whitfield.

The awards highlighted the great strides made in the industry towards diversity. Recipients of the awards include Boone Isaacs, Bob and Harvey Weinstein and journalist Justin Chang who received the AAFCA’s inaugural Roger Ebert Award. Ryan Coogler, director of Fruitvale Station, was also present and was joined by the film’s producers, Forest Whitaker and Nina Yang Bongiovi, onstage to deliver a powerful acceptance speech.

“I couldn’t be more thrilled with the outcome of this year’s show,” says Gil Robertson, AAFCA president and co-founder.  “Our goal with this event is to provide our guests with an opportunity to mix, mingle and celebrate the tremendous gifts that the film industry gives to the world.”

Check out pictures of the awards gala on the following page, which features Shonda Rhimes, Forest Whitaker and many more.

African American Actors Celebrate Strides In Film At The 2014 AAFCA Awards was originally published on theurbandaily.com

1 2 3 4Next page »

Also On Black America Web:
Find Out What Your Fav Celebs Did On Instagram This Week (02/02-02/08)
10 photos

One thought on “African American Actors Celebrate Strides In Film At The 2014 AAFCA Awards

Add Your Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s