‘Murder, She Wrote’ Reboot Starring Octavia Spencer Heading To NBC

Comments: 5  | Leave A Comment
  • advertisement
  • Whoa, this is BIG.

    NBC, according to Deadline, has plans to bring back “Murder She Wrote,” one of the most watched shows in television history.

    And they’re going to do it with Oscar winner Octavia Spencer (“The Help”) succeeding Angela Lansbury in the lead role of an astute amateur detective.

    The new hour-long project, which has received a put pilot commitment, is a re-imagining of the long-running CBS series. Described as a light, contemporary procedural in the vein of Bones or Fargo, it follows a hospital administrator and amateur sleuth (Spencer) who self-publishes her first mystery novel.

    Set in a day where sensational headlines inundate the news, this woman’s avid fascination with true crime leads her to become an active participant in the investigations. Former Desperate Housewives executive producer Cunningham is writing and will executive produce with Janollari

    If you’re familiar with Spencer’s career, you know she works mainly on the big screen although she previously worked with NBC chairman Bob Greenblatt and Janollari on the 2001 Sci Fi Channel series “The Chronicle,” which the two exec produced and she recurred on.

    In “Murder, She Wrote,” Spencer’s involvement came from an exploratory meeting she took with Greenblatt.

    “I’ve always considered myself an armchair detective and in a recent meeting with Bob Greenblatt, he asked me what type of character would be able to lure me to TV. Naturally, I said ‘J.B. Fletcher’ meets ‘Colombo’ … And here we are,” she told Deadline. “I’m ecstatic to have the opportunity to work with Dave Janollari again, and Alex Cunningham a brilliant writer who shares my love for all things mysterious and Angela Lansbury.”

    Tags: »

    • More Content

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 2,318 other followers