Essence will honor Hollywood heavyweights Oprah Winfrey, Alfre Woodard and Gabrielle Union in a ceremony next month.

The sixth annual Black Women in Hollywood Luncheon will recognize women in the film industry on February 21, 2013.

The popular magazine will present media mogul Oprah Winfrey with the Power Award while honoring Alfre Woodard with the Vanguard Award. Gabrielle Union will also receive top honors as a recipient of the Fierce and Fearless Award.

Other shining stars include Mara Brock-Akil who will be presented with the Visionary Award and Naomie Harris will receive the Lincoln Shining Star Award.

Essence will also recognize this year’s youngest Oscar-nominee Quvenzhane Wallis with the Breakthrough Performance Award.

“The Essence Black Women in Hollywood Luncheon recognizes the ‘Power of our Presence’ by spotlighting the stellar accomplishments of African-American female performers and creators in film and television. More importantly, the annual luncheon serves as a source of support and inspiration for the incredibly talented community of Black women who are often overlooked by the Hollywood establishment,” said Essence Editor-in-Chief Constance C.R. White.

This exclusive celebration is one of the year’s most anticipated Hollywood events during the red carpet season. The magazine also continues the celebration with their Hollywood edition March issue available on newsstands February 8th.

Essence readers and fans can watch their favorite stars dominate the red carpet, listen to interviews and catch live coverage by streaming online at 11:30a.m. PST/2:30p.m. EST. The coverage will re-air that same night at 6p.m PST/9p.m. EST.

(Photo: AP)

Also On Black America Web:

×
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,681 other followers