R. Kelly Makes Soul Train History, Usher Up For 5

Comments: Comments Are Disabled  | Leave A Comment
  • advertisement
  • NEW YORK (AP) — R. Kelly is nominated for two awards at this year's Soul Train Awards, making him the most nominated act ever at the awards show.

    Kelly is up for the Ashford & Simpson songwriter's award and album of the year, bringing his career total to 21 nominations.

    Usher leads this year's awards with five nominations. Estelle, Nas, Trey Songz and John Legend are also multiple nominees.

    Whitney Houston is nominated for best gospel inspirational performance and Amy Winehouse is nominated for best international performance. New Edition will receive a lifetime achievement award.

    The Soul Train Awards, hosted by Cedric the Entertainer, will be taped Nov. 8 at Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas. The show will air Nov. 25 on BET and Centric.

    Check out the full list of nominees below:

    Best New Artist
    Elle Varner
    Emeli Sande
    J. Cole
    Luke James
    Robert Glasper

    Centric Award
    Esperanza Spalding
    Gary Clark Jr.
    Leah Labelle

    Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance
    BeBe Winans- “America America”
    Fred Hammond- “I Feel Good”
    Marvin Sapp- “My Testimony”
    Mary Mary- “Go Get It”
    Whitney Houston and Jordin Sparks- “Celebrate”

    Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year
    2 Chainz ft. Drake- “No Lie”
    Wale ft. Miguel- “Lotus Flower Bomb”
    Nas- “Daughters”
    Kanye West ft. Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz – “Mercy”
    Young Jeezy ft. Ne-Yo- “Leave You Alone”

    Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
    Keyshia Cole
    Mary J. Blige
    Melanie Fiona

    Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
    Robin Thicke
    Trey Songz

    Album of the Year
    The One – Eric Benet
    Channel Orange -Frank Ocean
    Life Is Good -Nas
    Write Me Back -R. Kelly
    Looking For Myself -Usher

    Song of the Year
    Estelle- “Thank You”
    John Legend ft. Ludacris- “Tonight (Best You Ever Had)”
    Trey Songz- “Heart Attack”
    Tyrese- “Stay”
    Usher- “Climax”
    Wale ft. Miguel- “Lotus Flower Bomb”

    The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award
    “Thank You”-Estelle
    (Writers: Arden Altino, Akene “The Champ” Dunkley, Jerry Duplessis, Doug F. Edwards, Thomas D. Richardson, Aliaune Thiam)
    “Tonight (Best You Ever Had)” -John Legend ft. Ludacris
    (Writers: Allen Arthur, Christopher “Ludacris” Bridges, Keith Justice, Miguel Pimentel “Miguel”, Clayton Reilly, John Stephens)
    (Writers: Nasir Jones, Ernest D. Wilson, Patrick Adams, Gary DeCarlo, Dale Frashuer, Paul Leka)
    “Share My Love”-R. Kelly
    (Writer: Robert Kelly)
    “Climax” -Usher
    (Writers: Usher Raymond IV, Sean “Redd Stylez” Fenton, Thomas “Diplo” Pentz, Ariel Rechtshaid)

    Best Dance Performance
    Beyoncé- “Love On Top”
    Chris Brown- “Turn Up The Music”
    Nicki Minaj- “Starships”
    Rihanna- “Where Have You Been”
    Usher- “Scream”

    Best Caribbean Performance*
    Cover Drive – “Bajan Style”
    Damien “Junior Gong” Marley- “SuperHeavy”
    Jimmy Cliff- “Rebirth”
    Matisyahu – “Spark Seeker”
    Sean Paul – “Tomahawk Technique”

    Best International Performance*
    Amy Winehouse- “Our Day Will Come”
    Daley ft. Marsha Ambrosius- “Alone Together”
    Emeli Sande- “Next To Me”
    Estelle- “Thank You”
    Gotye ft. Kimbra- “Somebody (That I Used To Know)”
    Rebecca Ferguson- “Nothing’s Real But Love”

    Best Traditional Jazz Artist/Group*
    Chris Botti- Impressions
    Kenny Garrett- Seeds From The Underground
    Melody Gardot- The Absence
    The Robert Glasper Experiment – Black Radio
    Tony Bennett- Isn’t It Romantic

    Best Contemporary Jazz Artist/Group*
    Ben Tankard- Full Tank
    Brian Culbertson- DREAMS
    Cassandra Wilson- Another Country
    Esperanza Spalding- Radio Music Society
    Peter White- Here We Go

    Tags: » » »


    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 3,666 other followers